I hate Thanksgiving. It's my least favorite holiday for several reasons.
First, I'm a vegetarian. The rest of my family is not. I always feel like a burden to those who are cooking. They want to make food for me and I appreciate that but I always feel awkward because they have to go out of their way to cook for me.
As a vegetarian I always feel like its wrong to celebrate a holiday that is about eating foods I have no desire to eat. Why would I want to celebrate a holiday that most people associate with eating tons of turkey? I don't know. It seems hypocritical of me to celebrate Thanksgiving when I don't eat meat.
Secondly, Thanksgiving is a gluttonous holiday. I am obviously struggling with my weight right now. Why would I want to celebrate a holiday that is all about food? I don't.
I promised myself that I would not overeat. I think I did pretty good. I did decide to make Thanksgiving an s day so I could have sweets and seconds but I promised myself that I would not over do it.
Here's how I controlled myself
I only ate during meals.
I have to eat vegetables first.
I wore tight pants so I would feel fat. (That honestly worked. I didn't want to eat because I felt fat.)
I make myself do crunches and walk around so I got some exercise.
All in all, as much as I hate Thanksgiving I do it because my mom forces me to. I go because I get to see my family even if it is the worst holiday ever. I am proud of myself for not overeating.
No comments:
Post a Comment